Skip to main content

Protect the environment, conserve resources, use sustainable foam materials

 

Sustainable foam materials—the alternative

In the past, polyurethane (PUR) foams were produced primarily from raw materials based on crude oil, with polyols being an important component. Today, there are various methods for producing foam materials with a steadily increasing sustainable content. These techniques reduce the proportion of fossil components, lower climate-damaging CO2, or utilise various recycling options to decrease the use of new resources by means of a circular economy. All of the new procedures have one thing in common: they make a valuable contribution to protecting the climate and the environment and positively influencing the ecological footprint.

Foam materials with a sustainable component can replace conventional products in a wide range of markets.

Seal for sustainably produced and processed foam materials

Recognising “green” foam materials at a glance

Foam materials with a sustainable component are visually indistinguishable from conventionally manufactured products—perfect for use, but they are not immediately apparent to the user. There is now a seal for this: any foam product with this label is guaranteed to be made of foam materials with a sustainable component.

Foam materials produced sustainably: four manufacturing methods

Foam materials based on renewable raw materials

In the production of polyols, one of the main components of PUR foam materials, crude oil (petroleum) is partially replaced by vegetable oils. In principle, various vegetable oils, such as rapeseed, soya, palm, or castor oil, can be used. When castor oil is used in polyols, for example, a sustainable proportion of up to 26% can be achieved in the foam material.

Foam materials with chemical recycling

The production of semi-finished and finished products made of PUR foam results in material residues. These residues are recycled by turning them into new polyols through the chemical process of solvolysis.

Foam materials with solid dispersion

In particular, rigid foams used in the construction sector can also be physically recycled. This is done by grinding them into a fine solid, which is added during the production of PUR foam materials. Technical limitations mean that a sustainable proportion of up to 10% can be achieved. If this solid dispersion is combined with other processes or materials, the sustainable proportion can be increased even further.

Foam materials with carbon upcycling

In the production of flexible foam materials, the required petroleum-based polyol is partly replaced by a polyol based on CO2. CO2 is a by-product of chemical production processes and would otherwise be released into the atmosphere. This reduces the use of fossil components and does not pollute the environment in the form of emissions. By using CO2-based polyols, a sustainable proportion of up to 13% can be achieved.

Out of responsibility to our children

Sustainable processing of foam materials

 

More and more people are interested in sustainable foam materials

Many people prefer sustainable products. These are gaining in market share against conventional products. Therefore, sustainably produced products belong in every range and offer high growth rates. This also applies to foam materials. Sustainable thinking and action is firmly anchored in many companies, employees act in an environmentally conscious manner, and customers choose companies that take responsibility and position themselves sustainably. Although sustainable action is more expensive in the short term, it enhances a company’s image, offers competitive advantages, and demonstrates responsibility, innovative capacity, and long-term thinking based on social, economic, and environmental accountability.

 

Sustainably processed “green” foam materials

Consistent action means processing sustainable foam materials in a way that is as sustainable as possible. This is done in processes that minimise negative impacts on the environment while conserving energy and natural resources. With the use of green power, biogas, photovoltaics to cover energy requirements, energy-optimised building structures, and energy-efficient lighting in production, through to production processes that minimise waste and recycling strategies, manufacturing methods also make a significant contribution to protecting the environment.

 

An initiative by Pahlke Schaumstoffe

Future viability should be recognised, which is why we are the initiator behind the seal for sustainable foam materials. Together with suppliers and project partners, we have been working with conviction for many years on the development and marketing of foam materials with sustainable components and their sustainable processing. In addition, we are a signatory of the statement drawn up by Entrepreneurs for Future and a member of the BNW Bundesverband für nachhaltige Wirtschaft e. V. (German Federal Association of Green Business).

 

Sustainable foam materials from Pahlke Schaumstoffe—enquire online now!

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Umwelt schützen, Ressourcen schonen, nachhaltige Schaumstoffe einsetzen

Nachhaltige Schaumstoffe – die Alternative

Schaumstoffe aus Polyurethan (PUR) wurden bisher primär aus erdölbasierten Rohstoffen hergestellt, wichtige Bestandteile sind dabei die Polyole. Mittlerweile gibt es unterschiedliche Verfahren, Schaumstoffe mit stetig steigendem nachhaltigem Anteil zu produzieren. Diese Techniken reduzieren den Anteil fossiler Bestandteile, verringern klimaschädliches CO2 oder nutzen verschiedene Recyclingmöglichkeiten, um durch Kreislaufwirtschaft den Einsatz neuer Ressourcen zu vermindern. Alle neuen Verfahren haben eines gemeinsam: Sie sind ein wertvoller Beitrag, um Klima und Umwelt zu schützen und den ökologischen Fußabdruck positiv zu beeinflussen.

Schaumstoffe mit nachhaltigen Anteilen können konventionelle Produkte auf den unterschiedlichsten Märkten ersetzen.

Siegel für nachhaltige produzierte und verarbeitete Schaumstoffe

„Grüne“ Schaumstoffe auf einen Blick erkennen

Schaumstoffe mit nachhaltigem Anteil unterscheiden sich optisch nicht von konventionell hergestellten Produkten – perfekt für den Einsatz, aber für den Anwender nicht auf den ersten Blick erkennbar. Dafür gibt es jetzt ein Siegel: Jedes Schaumstoffprodukt mit dieser Kennzeichnung besteht mit Sicherheit aus Schaumstoff mit nachhaltigem Anteil.

Schaumstoffe nachhaltig produziert: 4 Verfahren zur Herstellung

Schaumstoffe auf Basis nachwachsender Rohstoffe

Bei der Herstellung von Polyolen, einer der Hauptkomponenten von PUR-Schaumstoffen, wird Erdöl teilweise durch pflanzliche Öle ersetzt. Dafür kommen grundsätzlich verschiedene pflanzliche Öle in Frage, z.B. Raps-, Soja-, Palm- oder Rizinusöl. Mit dem Einsatz von z.B. Rizinusöl in Polyolen lässt sich ein nachhaltiger Anteil von bis zu 26 % im Schaumstoff erreichen.

Schaumstoffe mit chemischem Recycling

In der Produktion von Halbzeugen und Endprodukten aus PUR-Schaumstoff fallen Materialreste an. Diese Reste werden wiederverwertet, indem sie mit dem chemischen Verfahren der Solvolyse zu neuen Polyolen aufbereitet werden. Diese recycelten Polyole werden bei der Produktion von Schaumstoffen hinzugefügt. Ihre Beigabe ermöglicht einen nachhaltigen Anteil von bis zu 17 % im Schaumstoff.

Schaumstoffe mit Feststoffeinstreuung

Insbesondere Hartschäume, die im Baubereich verwendet werden, lassen sich auch physisch recyceln. Dazu werden sie zu einem feinen Feststoff zermahlen, der bei der Produktion von PUR-Schaumstoffen beigemischt wird. Aufgrund technischer Einschränkungen lässt sich dadurch ein nachhaltiger Anteil von max. 10 % erreichen. Wird die Feststoffeinstreuung mit anderen Verfahren oder Materialien kombiniert, kann der nachhaltige Anteil noch erhöht werden.

Schaumstoffe mit CO2-Upcycling

Bei der Produktion von Weichschaumstoffen wird das benötigte Polyol auf Erdölbasis zum Teil durch ein Polyol auf Basis von CO2 ersetzt. Das CO2 fällt als Nebenprodukt bei chemischen Produktionsprozessen an und würde andernfalls in die Atmosphäre abgegeben. Dadurch vermindert sich der Einsatz fossiler Bestandteile und die Umwelt wird nicht in Form von Abgasen belastet. Mit dem Einsatz von CO2-Polyolen kann ein nachhaltiger Anteil von bis zu 13 % erzielt werden.

Aus Verantwortung für unsere Kinder

Nachhaltige Verarbeitung von Schaumstoffen

Immer mehr Menschen interessieren sich für nachhaltigen Schaumstoff

Viele Menschen greifen lieber zu einem nachhaltigen Produkt. Die Marktanteile gegenüber konventionellen Produkten gewinnen zunehmend. Daher gehören nachhaltig produzierte Produkte in jedes Sortiment und bieten hohe Wachstumsraten. Das gilt auch für Schaumstoffe. In vielen Unternehmen ist nachhaltiges Denken und Handeln verankert, Mitarbeiter agieren umweltbewusst, Kunden entscheiden sich für Unternehmen, die Verantwortung übernehmen und sich nachhaltig positionieren. Auch wenn nachhaltiges Handeln kurzfristig betrachtet teurer ist, stärkt es das eigene Image und bietet Wettbewerbsvorteile, zeugt von Verantwortung, Innovationsfähigkeit und langfristigem Denken auf Basis von sozialer, ökonomischer und ökologischer Verantwortung.

"Grüne" Schaumstoffe nachhaltig verarbeitet

Konsequentes Handeln bedeutet, nachhaltigen Schaumstoff auch möglichst nachhaltig zu verarbeiten. Dies geschieht in Prozessen, die negative Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt minimieren und gleichzeitig Energie und natürliche Ressourcen schonen. Mit dem Einsatz von Ökostrom, Biogas, Photovoltaik zur Energiebedarfsdeckung, energetisch optimierter Gebäudestruktur und energieeffizienter Beleuchtung in der Fertigung bis hin zu ausschussminimierenden Produktionsprozessen und Wiederverwertungsstrategien leisten auch Fertigungsprozesse einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Schutz der Umwelt.

Eine Initiative von Pahlke Schaumstoffe

Zukunftsfähigkeit soll man erkennen, daher stehen wir als Initiator hinter dem Siegel für nachhaltige Schaumstoffe. Gemeinsam mit Lieferanten und Projektpartnern arbeiten wir bereits seit vielen Jahren mit Überzeugung an der Entwicklung und Vermarktung von Schaumstoff mit nachhaltigen Anteilen und seiner nachhaltigen Verarbeitung. Zusätzlich sind wir Unterzeichner der Stellungnahme von Entrepreneurs for Future und Mitglied im BNW Bundesverband für nachhaltige Wirtschaft e. V..

Nachhaltige Schäume von Pahlke Schaumstoffe – jetzt online anfragen!